Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Welsh Premiership returns with a new cup competition

The first Indigo Group Premiership Cup is divided into east and west pools

The Indigo Group Premiership will kick off the 2021-22 season with a new cup competition starting September 18.

The 12 clubs were divided into two pools of six – West and East – for the first Indigo Group Premiership Cup.

The teams play against each other at home and away to determine the top two Welsh teams in each group.

The winner from the west will then receive the runner-up from the east in one semi-final, while the east winner will receive the runner-up from the west in the other semi-final.

The date and location of the final will be announced.

Llanelli, Aberavon, Bridgend, Carmarthen Quins, Llandovery and Swansea form the west, while Merthyr, Ebbw Vale, Pontypridd, Newport, Cardiff and RGC are to the east.

“The key for us has been getting people back to rugby. A lot of time and effort has gone into making sure the top end of our club game comes back to play in a safe environment,” said Geraint John, director of equity investments Welsh Rugby Union.

“Finally the players and coaches have something tangible to concentrate on and we can all look forward to exciting derbies that I am sure will finally give the fans something to complain about.”

Native rugby in Wales has taken an 18-month hiatus due to the coronavirus crisis.

Comments are closed.