Karnataka BJP shortlists four names for Council bypoll

Karnataka Council bypoll: BJP shortlists 4 names

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) shortlisted 4 names, together with two defectors from the Congress and the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) for the June 29 biennial election to contest 4 of the 7 Karnataka Legislative Council seats slipping vacant, an official claimed on Tuesday.

“The condition core committee shortlisted 4 names and sent them to New Delhi for our substantial command’s approval so that they can file nominations by Thursday to contest in 4 of the 7 Council seats,” party formal G. Madhusudhana explained to IANS.

BS YediyurappaTwitter

Four names shortlisted for Council bypoll

The four are H. Vishwanath, M.T.B. Nagaraj, M. Shankar and Sunil Velyapure. Vishwanath, former JD-S chief, and Nagaraj, previous Congress minister, lost in the assembly by-elections on December 5 from Hunsur in Mysuru district and Hoskote in Bengaluru Rural district.

“As Vishwanath and Nagaraj resigned from their assembly segments in July 2019 with 15 other rebels, which led to the drop of the 14-thirty day period-old JD-S-Congress coalition governing administration on July 23, 2019, the committee advised their names for the Council seats,” said Madhusudhana.

Shankar, who was an Impartial and a minister in the former coalition authorities, was not provided the BJP ticket to contest in the December assembly bypolls although he way too resigned from the Ranebennur assembly seat in Haveri district, about 340 km northwest of Bengaluru, along with previous Congress and JD-S rebels.

BS Yeddyurappa

BJP wins the ground examTwitter / @BJP4Karnataka

Vishwanath, Nagaraj and Shankar are also aspiring to turn out to be ministers in the 10-thirty day period-previous BJP federal government after receiving elected to the Council, as there are 4 vacancies in the 34-member Yeduiyurappa cabinet.

Velyapura is the party’s grass-root leader from Chincholi in Gulbarga district in the state’s northern area, about 586km from Bengaluru.

“He (Velyapura) thoroughly campaigned in the May well 2019 normal elections and ensured the victory of our candidate Umesh Yadav from the reserved Gulbarga Lok Sabha seat, defeating Congress senior leader Mallikarjun Kharge,” recalled Madhusudhana.

As the celebration has 116 legislators in the 225-member Assembly, all its 4 candidates will need to have 28 votes every single to earn the contest. Of the 7 outgoing Council members, 5 are from the Congress and a person just about every from the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) and an Independent.

With 68 lawmakers, the Congress will be in a position to retain 2 seats and the JD-S one as it has only 34 legislators in the lessen house. Of the 75-member Council, the opposition Congress has 37, BJP 19, JD-S 16, two Independents and one particular Chairman.