Trevor Noah is hosting the Grammy Awards

Trevor Noah is hosting the Grammy Awards

The Recording Academy and CBS have announced that Comedian Trevor Noah, host of Comedy Central’s Emmy Award-winning Daily Show, will host the 63rd annual Grammy Awards.

The announcement comes hours before the 63rd Grammy Awards nominations livestream on Tuesday GRAMMY.com at 9:00 a.m. PT / 12:00 p.m. ET.

“Despite the fact that I am utterly disappointed that the Grammys refused to let me sing or be nominated for best pop album, I am thrilled to host this auspicious event,” said Noah. “I think, as a one time Grammy nominee, I’m the best person to shoulder all of the amazing artists who don’t win that night because I know the pain of not winning the award too! (This is a metaphorical shoulder, I’m not trying to catch Corona.) See you at the 63rd Grammys! “

Harvey Mason Jr., Chairman and Interim President / CEO of the Recording Academy, said, “With a talent for keeping viewers engaged and entertaining, Trevor is the perfect choice to guide us through an unforgettable evening of musical moments, unity and inspiration . A dynamic host, comedian and personality, we are delighted to welcome him to the Grammy stage for the first time as the host of Music’s Biggest Night. “

George Cheeks, President and CEO of CBS Entertainment Group, added, “Trevor’s comedy talent, dedicated energy, and unique perspective make him the perfect host for the Grammys. At the same time, it’s very exciting to have one of our biggest ViacomCBS stars at the center of one of the CBS marquee events. With Trevor Hosting and Ben Winston from ‘The Late Late Show’ this is another example of the strength of our combined company in music, entertainment and the biggest live events. “

The 63rd annual Grammy Awards will air on Sunday, January 31, 2021 at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT on the CBS Television Network. The premiere of the Grammy Awards will be broadcast live GRAMMY.com at 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT.

The 63rd annual Grammy Awards are produced by Fulwell 73 Productions for the Recording Academy. Ben Winston is executive producer, Jesse Collins and Raj Kapoor are co-executive producers, Fatima Robinson, Josie Cliff and David Wild are producers, Patrick Menton is a talent producer, and Hamish Hamilton is a director.

The story goes on

More from diversity

Best of variety

Sign up for the Variety newsletter. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for the latest news.