Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Netto gets another at Ocean

DJ Netto (Photo by Joe Shivak)

WATSONVILLE, Calif. – DJ Netto won his second feature event of the Taco Bravo Sprint Car Series season Friday night at Ocean Speedway.

His Netto Ag/Penny Newman sponsored #88n KCP chassis led all 30 laps around the quarter mile oval of the Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds.

Kaleb Montgomery finished second with a late race in only his second time in the Keller Motorsports No. 2k. Bud Kaeding brought the Al’s Roofing NO. 69 home in third place.

Netto and Kaeding took the field onto the green, with Netto taking a strong lead as the duo entered the first corner. Kaeding quickly took second place.

These two rode upwards in this manner until the first warning of the race on lap nine with Kurt Nelson going over the second corner pad and coming to a halt. The restart gave leader Netto a clear lead after catching up with the slower lapped cars.

Netto maintained his lead but had a slim chance in the second turn when Nelson Gage tapped Garcia in the rear causing both cars to spin and take much of the track including blocking the racing line used by Netto.

He was able to dodge the cars, but Bryce Eames wasn’t so lucky and ran into both cars.

With Netto holding a comfortable lead, there was a great battle for third through fifth as Montgomery was on the move as he passed three cars at once to move him from fifth to second.

A final warning slowed the race on lap 27 when Wayne Katen spun. The restart gave Netto an open and clear lane again and he took the diamond for the second time this season.

The end:

DJ Netto, Kaleb Montgomery, Bud Kaeding, JJ Ringo, Jake Andreotti, Mitchell Faccinto, Dylan Bloomfield, Ricky Sanders, Joey Ancona, Travis Labat, Michael Pombo, Bradley Dillard, Craig Stidham, Mark Chaves Jr., Chris Nelson, Koen Shaw Ashlyn Rodriguez, Jason Chisum, Wayne Katen, Gauge Garcia, Bryce Eames, Kurt Nelson

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: