Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

36th Annual Celebrity Luncheon honoring local celebrities Sept. 23 | KLBK | KAMC

LUBBOCK, Texas (PRESS RELEASE) – The following is a press release from the Association for Women in Communications:

Recipients of the Association for Women in Communications (AWC) 2020 and 2021 Celebrity Luncheon Awards will be honored at the annual event on Thursday, September 23, at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center. Entry is at 11 a.m. Tickets are $ 75 and are available here.

For 36 years, the AWC Lubbock Professional Chapter has honored local people whose accomplishments have made Lubbock and the surrounding area a great place to live and work. Originally scheduled for April 2020, the 36th annual Celebrity Luncheon has been postponed in response to COVID-19. This year’s event therefore honors headliners and gold medalists from 2020 and 2021.

Headlining awards are given to: Keith Bryant, Texas Tech Athletics, Officer Thomas Thompson, the Texas Tech School of Veterinary Medicine, Brady Robinette, the Lubbock Daily COVID Update Committee, and the Texas Tech Biological Threat Research Laboratory. Headlining Awards are given to individuals whose achievements or contributions have received widely positive recognition in the media.

Gold medals are awarded to: Jim and Jere Lynn Burkhart, Kat’s Alley Cats, Unpack Ministries, Eddy Morelock, and the Lubbock Economic Recovery Task Force. This award is given to individuals who have worked over an extended period of time to improve the quality of life for a wide range of residents in the Lubbock area.

Picoso’s Mexican Kitchen receives the Louise Allen Award for Outstanding Corporate Social Service. Sally Post is honored with the Mary Ann Edwards Professional Communicator Award, which recognizes an individual in the communications industry whose attention to creating, managing, disseminating, and consuming ideas and information is a significant contributor to their discipline and makes a positive impact on the community Has .

The Beth Pratt Communicator of the Year Award will be announced over lunch. It recognizes an AWC member who has shown excellent performance in his job, positive support of the chapters and a commitment to the goals of the AWC.

The George Mahon Award for Outstanding Public Service is presented to an individual who has devoted their adult life to a wide range of public service endeavors that result in success. The winner of this award will also be announced at lunch.

The event is sponsored by the Lubbock Professional Chapter of the Association for Women in Communications. The proceeds will be used to fund scholarships for students at the Texas Tech College of Media & Communication and the professional development of AWC members. For more information, contact Britta Tye, AWC Celebrity Luncheon Chair, at (806) 834-2933 or [email protected]

The Association for Women in Communications is a national professional body committed to advancing women in all communication disciplines by recognizing excellence, promoting leadership skills, and positioning its members at the forefront of the evolving communications age. You can find more information about AWC on our website.

(Press release of the association for women in communication)

Comments are closed.