Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Nominations for the Northwest Alberta Sports Excellence Awards begin January 1st

(Poster, Grande Prairie Regional Sport Connect Facebook)

Do you know an extraordinary amateur athlete, coach, or volunteer who has done everything in the past 12 months? In this case, the Grande Prairie Regional Sport Connection is shortly accepting nominations for the Northwest Alberta Sport Excellence Awards 2021.

Ten awards are given in two different categories. In the high performance category, they include athletes of the year, juniors and athletes of the year, team of the year and coach of the year. The awards in the “Community Awards” category include “Development Trainer of the Year”, “Excellent Official”, “Sport Builder”, “Unsung Hero”, “Community Sportsmanship” and “Sports Event of the Year”.

Executive Director Karna Germsheid says that while she knows it wasn’t a very traditional sports year in the region, she knows that those involved in programs across the board have worked tirelessly to make things run as smoothly as possible.

“We thought about what h -pened and if people could go they could go and we have athletes, volunteers and teams from the north that made it in 2021 so we feel really positive,” she says.

“They do this consistently, even during downtime because it’s not like nothing is h -pening, there are still coaches, volunteers and athletes who train and grind and plan, so we should never forget to recognize them”, she adds.

Germsheid says the awards themselves aren’t just for those in the greater Grande Prairie area, as the selection of eligible nominees spans from Fox Creek to Slave Lake and as far as the borders of NWT and British Columbia.

“We know a pretty big region, and the more people get involved and use this event, the better,” she says. “We know our surrounding communities are doing exactly the same as our sports community, and they need to be recognized.”

The nomination period runs from January 1 to January 31, 2022. The award ceremony will take place during a ceremony on March 18.

Comments are closed.