Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Kofoid is first-time WoO winner

Buddy Kofoid won his first World of Outlaws feature Thursday at Huset’s Speedway. (Trent Gower photo)

BRANDON, SD — Michael “Buddy” Kofoid was just 9 years old when he first buckled up and abused a sprint car.

On Thursday night, the 20-year-old USAC National Dwarf Champion earned his first World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series on opening night of the High Bank Nationals at Huset’s Speedway.

It was only his 16th appearance on The Greatest Show on Dirt and also the first World of Outlaws win for car owner Crouch Motorsports.

The young phenomenon started second and passed Brock Zearfoss to lead on lap four, but things didn’t go smoothly from there. Australian James McFadden passed the No. 11 Indy Race Parts on lap 21, but Kofoid showed the skill of a seasoned veteran as he regrouped, backtracked past McFadden and mastered lap traffic on the final stage to win by 2.177s.

“I’m speechless,” said Kofoid. “For as long as I can remember I’ve wanted to win World of Outlaws. This is by far the biggest win of my career. To say I’ve beaten the best in the world is incredible. That’s so special, wow. I knew our car was fast all day yesterday and then I knew we would have a chance today. my boys brad [Alexander] and blade [Kearns] do a damn good job, it’s just the three of us this week. I also have to thank Leighton Crouch and Bernie Stübgen for everything they do for us. That’s incredible.”

Kofoid became the 148th winner in the history of the series and also emerged as the first highlight of the High Bank Nationals on Thursday. He currently leads James McFadden (441), Parker Price-Miller (433), Brock Zearfoss (431) and Hunter Schuerenberg (431) with the top-4 combined points after Friday securing Saturday’s $100,000 winnings Final.

McFadden capped his blustery night with a season-best second place aboard the No. 83 Roth Motorsports. McFadden’s team changed engines on hot laps and he qualified fifth, going from fifth to second in his heat race.

McFadden slipped past Kofoid to lead the 21st lap in Thursday’s feature, but a slight wobble in lap traffic next time allowed Kofoid to reclaim the point and he never let go. McFadden picked the best runner-up of the season as he continues to chase the 99th World of Outlaws win for car owners Dennis & Teresa Roth.

“I was getting so caught up by lap cars there that it seemed like some of them were chasing the lead and that hurt me the most,” said McFadden. “That’s what destroyed my momentum the most when I came to Buddy to take the lead. This Roth Motorsports car was great tonight though. We put together the qualifying pack and now we’re back at the forefront when it comes to features. I have always enjoyed this place and hope to continue tomorrow.”

Parker Price-Miller earned his first World of Outlaws podium since 2020 aboard the #11 Sam McGhee Motorsports.

“We put in a new engine and changed the fueling from last night and that made a big difference for us tonight,” noted PPM. “In the beginning I was really good here, but in the beginning I just started too tight. All in all a great run for us. To end up on the podium against a field like that is always impressive. We just have to continue this tomorrow night.”

Zearfoss, who led the first three races from pole, fell behind to finish in the #3z Moose’s LZ Bar & Grill for a best fourth of the season.

Matt Steuerwald moved up from sixth place to record his second win of the season at Nordstrom’s Automotive Late Model Street Stock.

The end:

Feature (35 turns): 1. 11-Buddy Kofoid [2][$15,000]; 2. 83-James McFadden [5][$6,000]; 3. 11P-Parker Price-Miller [6][$3,500]; 4. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss [1][$2,800]; 5. 55-Hunter Schuenberg [4][$2,500]; 6. 2-David Kies [9][$2,300]; 7. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild [23][$2,200]; 8. 18-Giovanni Scelzi [7][$2,100]† 9. 1S-Logan Schuart [13][$2,050]; 10. 41-Carson Macedo [11][$2,000]; 11. 24-Rico Abreu [14][$1,600]; 12. 1A-Jacob Allen [8][$1,400]; 13. 15H-Sam Hafertepe [10][$1,200]; 14. 49 – Brad Sweet [16][$1,100]; 15. 88-Austin McCarl [15][$1,050]; 16. O9 – Matt Juhl [3][$1,000]; 17. 5-Spencer Bayston [21][$1,000]; 18. 15-Donny darling [24][$1,000]; 19. 16- Brooke Tatnell [17][$1,000]; 20. 25-JJ Hickle [20][$1,000]; 21. 19AZ-Mitchel Moles [12][$1,000]; 22. 13-Mark Dobmeier [19][$1,000]; 23. 21K-Thomas Kennedy [18][$1,000]; 24. 7S-Robbie Price [22][$1,000].

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: